When the World Wide Web first launched for public use in 1993, website designs were anything but glamorous, often sporting garish Comic Sans fonts and over utilizing tacky, flashing pixel imagery. 

Over the past few decades, our capacity for web design has grown in leaps and bounds, with today’s websites able to display more streamlined designs and an astonishing amount of interactivity.

Still, not all websites are created equal. There are always individuals and brands who take design to the next level to give their stakeholders an amazing online experience. 

If this sounds like you, it’s time to get the recognition you deserve. Here are 3 web design awards you should apply for.

1. Awwwards

Awwwards recognizes the work of talented web designers and developers globally, as seen in this “site of the day” example. The award operates all year round, with an esteemed panel of industry professionals always on hand to rank submissions. Awwwards judges are known for favoring sites that display extensive innovation and take risks in their designs. Awwwards also publishes a book annually, showcasing the most notable 365 sites of the year in hardback.

If you’re thinking of submitting your website to Awwwards, you will need to pay a $65 admission fee. However, if you intend to enter multiple sites, opt for the $165 annual membership, which offers three submissions and a listing on the member’s directory.

2. CSS Design Awards

Like Awwwards, the CSS Design Awards recognize designers (both freelance and studios) who push the boundary when it comes to web design and interfaces. Since its beginnings in 2009, the CSS Design awards have given creators a chance to compete against similarly sized candidates (as opposed to a single freelancer against an agency), creating a fair playing field in which excellence can be applauded. 

The judging system is two-fold, with industry experts scoring all submissions before the finalists are upvoted by web denizens. Additionally, there are a number of different award categories to apply for, including Innovation, UX and UI awards.

To enter, there is a nominal $50 admission fee per site.

3. Webby Awards

Presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (a 2000+ strong body of industry elites), the Webby Awards have been running since 1996 and were even named by The New York Times ‘The Internet’s Highest Honor” for web designers. With famous hosts such as Jameela Jamil and speeches from Pharrell Williams and Katy Perry, the Webby Awards will make you feel like you’re watching the Oscars of Design.

The Webby Awards differ slightly from the two other web design awards mentioned, as they don’t end with websites alone. The Webby Award judges also assess entrants in a range of other categories, from innovative podcasts to brilliantly executed PR campaigns. 

To apply for one of these prestigious Webby Awards, the entry fee ranges from between $160 and $545.

You’ve invested the time and effort into creating a website user interface that really wows your visitors, now put yourself to the ultimate test by entering one of the above 3 awards today!

By Article Editor

Daniel Carlson is a journalist with a passion for covering the latest trends and developments in digital marketing. He has a deep understanding of the complexities of the digital landscape and a talent for translating technical information into accessible and informative reports. His writing is insightful and thought-provoking, providing readers with a deeper understanding of the challenges and opportunities in the ever-evolving digital marketing world. Daniel is committed to accurate and impartial reporting, delivering the news with integrity and a sense of responsibility.